BBC Sports Personality of the Year Awards Summary

It has been a magnificent year of sport. From the Premier League season going to the wire between Manchester City and Liverpool. England Cricket Team’s heroics at the World Cup and the Ashes. Andy Murray’s return to the Tennis court. As with every year, it is a celebration to look back at those who achieved greatness, provided greatness and visualised greatness.

The list of nominees this year were as followed:

Ben Stokes had helped achieve Cricket World Cup success with England for the first time. He then went on to single handley keep England’s Ashes hopes alive as they eventually drew the series.

Dina Asher-Smith won Gold at the World Athletics Championships for the 200m which made her the first British woman to win a global sprint title. She also went on to achieve a Silver medal in the 100m whilst also breaking a record and achieving medal success in the 4 x 100m relay.

Another athlete in Katarina Johnson-Thompson won Gold at the World Athletics Championships in the Heptathlon. She secured a British record and a highest score since 2007.

Raheem Sterling took part in that nail biting Premier League finale as he won a treble with Manchester City. He was also named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year. He continued to stand up against racism in football and make a stand against the prejudice that many media outlets would fuel. Furthermore, he bought tickets for children attending the same school that he attended for the FA Cup Semi-Final match between Manchester City and Brighton.

Alun Wyn Jones captained the Wales Rugby team to Grand Slam victory in the Six Nations. Later in the year, during the Rugby World Cup in which Wales reached the semi-finals, he became the most capped Wales international.

Lewis Hamilton became the second driver in history to win a World Drivers Championship for the sixth time.

After a little slip up by Gary Lineker during the show, in which he pre-rempted and named Ben Stokes as the winner as he introduced him to the stage earlier in the show, before voting was even open. Question marks will now be raised as to whether the winner had already been decided. Regardless, whether Gary knew or not, Ben Stokes went on to be crowned as this years BBC Sports Personality of the Year. Second place went to Lewis Hamilton and third place to Dina Asher-Smith.

Other awards on the night included the Helen Rollason award going Doddie Weir’s for his work to look for a cure for motor neurone disease, as well as raising further awareness of the disease. The former Scottish international Rugby player was diagnosed with MND in 2016. During his acceptance speech, Doddie stated: “From playing sport, I’ve got a bit of spirit and fight and my spirit is to find a cure for MND. My foundation has raised nearly £5m, the recognition and support has been staggering.”. Well deserved and we wish Doddie and his family all the best.

Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson won the Lifetime Achievement award for her achievements in Paralympic sport and her work in raising the profile of the sport.

A very shocked and surprised Keiren Thompson won the Sports Personality UnSung Hero award for his work within his community in Nottingham. Helping kids stay off the streets and use sport as a means of staying out of trouble.the Young Sport Personality of the Year went to Caroline Dubois.

Catch up on all of last night’s event and speeches on the BBC iPlayer now.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star